24
Apr
09

windows environment vars and jruby



While trying to embed ruby in java, I found myself needing to install mechanize. After googling around, I found out that gems for jruby are installed with this command :

jruby gem install name_of_the_gem

After I ran that command, I got back an error message saying I should define my JAVA_HOME variable. I looked around and found the directory. On a Linux system, I used quotes everytime I needed to setup a path that contained spaces. It seems that this doesn’t work under windows.

set JAVA_HOME="c:\program files\java\...\"

should be replaced with

set JAVA_HOME=c:\program files\java\...\

I think that using quotes would be clearer, but, I’ll live with this too.

0 Responses to “windows environment vars and jruby”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 229,426 hits

