24
Sep
09

how i fixed the sound on backtrack 4



I wanted to try backtrack 4 for a long time. Tonight I finally did. I’m running a Lenovo laptop, with a Intel soundcard.
When logged on as a regular user I noticed I didn’t have sound. Being an avid music fan, this was unacceptable so I started to look for a solution. After googling for a while, and trying all sort of things, I finally found what worked for me: adding the user to the audio group.
To do this, open the /etc/group and look for the audio line. On my system, this was like this :

audio:x:29

To add your user to the group, simply change the line to this:

audio:x:29:user

where user is the name of the user you’re logged in with. Reboot, and you’re done!

Enjoy the sound!

8 Responses to “how i fixed the sound on backtrack 4”


  1. September 25, 2009 at 05:35

    Сайт очень качественный. Вам бы награду за него или просто орден почета. =)

  2. 2 geo
    September 25, 2009 at 06:27

    Glad you liked it!

  3. 3 Alton
    February 10, 2010 at 04:49

    Doesn’t work for me

  4. 5 Rui
    February 19, 2010 at 14:42

    Hey,

    me neither, doesn’t work.

    I tried what u said. 😐

  5. 6 Xx
    April 8, 2010 at 13:20

    doesn’t work with me either
    my user is ‘root’

  6. 8 konrad
    October 17, 2010 at 15:30

    Worked for me on bt4rc1.
    Thanks


Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 221,294 hits

